Grinch’s Heist – Flowlab

https://flowlab.io/game/view/575523      —    My game on Flowlab.

This is my finished game made with Flowlab, Grinch’s Heist. It is based on the book “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” by Dr. Seuss.

how-the-grinch-stole-christmas

https://doorsofdurin.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/how-the-grinch-stole-christmas.pdf

Luckily I was able to find the full book online for reference. The link above will take you to the book.

Before I go on, I would like to say that it was my goal to replicate the style of Dr.Suess. I did not, however, intend for it to be infringing on his copyright of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas.” I wanted to pay omage to my favorite story and author by making a game that was in his same art style.

 

capture1

In the above screenshot are my nodes connected to the player’s character. As you can see, the player can move with either WASD or arrow keys. Also, my gift collection is tied to keep count of how many gifts the player collides with. When the player touches 3, the next level will load after the player clicks on a message. I also have the player animation tied to any changes in position. Lastly, the player can select 1-3 number keys to go to that corresponding level.

 

capture2

Above you can see the nodes that control the left and right moving enemies. Collision with the player creates an Alert message and leads to the restarting of the current level. The mailbox with destroyer was used in order to destroy these enemies upon completing the level. This was done in order to ensure that the player couldn’t accidentally be hit after the alert message of moving to the next level.

 

Above is my process of making the Grinch.

 

 

 

For the animation of the characters, I down-res’d the original and used Photoshop lasso and transform tools to get moving poses. I used the burn and erase tool in order to sharpen edges and try to add back detail.

 

In the above mosaic, I have all the variations of boundaries I created in Photoshop using a basic brush. I had a hard time deciding on which one looked best, or as similar to Dr.Suess’s style.

 

In the above video, I go over the gameplay and discuss the game in general.

 

https://flowlab.io/game/view/575523

Leave a Reply

